The Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India, in its 7th Meeting of the Task Force held on 27th and 28th February 2020 had selected five Science Departments i.e., Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Botany and Zoology of our College, Salipur Autonomous College for the prestigious STAR COLLEGE SCHEME for a period of three years. Star College Scheme has been initiated by DBT in 2008 to support Colleges and Universities offering undergraduate education to improve science teaching across the country. DBT is committed to the values of i) Pursuit of excellence ii) Academic and intellectual freedom iii) Creativity and innovation iv) Diversity v) Cooperation and Communication & vi) accountability for improving critical thinking and 'hands on' experimental work at undergraduate (college) level in sciences. It is expected to encourage, more students to take up higher education in science. 





    According to the DBT an Advisory Committee is formed with                                         

       Chairman             -        Dr. Umesh Chandra Pati,   Principal,  

                                                               DBT Representatives – 1. Adviser DBT and                                                                

   2. Programme Officer-Star College Scheme

External Experts  -         1. Prof. Jagnehswar Dandapat, Professor and Head,

(Members)                     Department of Biotechnology, Utkal University,


                                        2. Dr. Sanjeeb Sahoo, Scientist-E,

DBT- Institute of Life Science, Bhubaneswar.

Members              -         All faculty members of Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Botany and Zoology.

Member-Secretary        -         Dr. Asit Parija, Reader in Chemistry                   (Co-ordinator, Star College Scheme)

Advisory Committee meeting is to guide the participating departments of the College in implementing the scheme.